UPSRTC - Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation

UPSRTC – Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation is the public transport corporation of Uttar Pradesh Government for operation of interstate, intrastate and city bus services in UP and neighbour states. Currently the fleet size of UPSRTC buses is of 7668, which operates more than 2.5 million KM a day. The corporation provide service to more than 1.3 million passengers daily and earn more than 38.3 million INR daily.

UPSRTC Services- Janta, Mini, Ordinary, Sarvjan Hitay, Sarvjan Express, Sleeper, AC, Pawan, Pawan Gold, Metropolitan Bus Service (in Lucknow,Agra, Kanpur, Varanasi, Jajmau, Allahabad, Meerut and Mathura).

On 15 May 1947 Uttar Pradesh Government Roadways operates its first bus service between Lucknow and Barabanki. On first of June 1972 UP Govt. Roadways established as Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation under the provision of the Road Transport Act 1950, this will happen in fourth five year plan. At the time of establishment of UPSRTC it had a fleet of 4253 buses and total 1123 bus routes. On 30 Oct 2003, corporation reconstructed, and services of Uttaranchal state comes under Uttaranchal state Transport Corporation.

Currently head/corporate office of corporation is in Lucknow. There are 23 regions of UPSRTC of which 2 regions operate urban and suburban services. Each region has well equipped with workshops where regular maintenance and repair of buses is performed. Each region is further divided in depots, currently there are total 108 deports in UPSRTC. Each depot has his separate workshop for providing supportive bus maintenance services.

Apart from regional workshop and depot workshop, UPSRTC have two major workshops know as central workshops which are situated in Kanpur- 1. Central Workshop, Rawatpur 2. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Workshop, Allen Forest. For repair of UP State Government cars and corporation staff cars there is saperate Car Section established in Lucknow.

UPSRTC established six tyre retreading plants to provide in-house facility in Allahabad, Saharanpur, Kanpur, Bareilly, Ghaziabad and Gorakhpur. For bus drivers and staff training a training school established in Kanpur.